Home » Teaching English as a Foreign language (TEFL)

Teaching English as a Foreign language (TEFL)


Certificate in Teaching English as a Foreign Language (CertTEFL)

Specifically designed to develop the skills required for people wishing to embark on a career as an EFL teacher.

Unit Structure: The EDI CertTEFL has a unitised structure consisting of six mandatory units. The syllabus topics and learning outcomes for this qualification have been broadly mapped to the LLUK overarching professional standards and standards for teachers of EFL.

Assessment: Assessment consists of a combination of teaching practice, teacher observation and written assignments.

Aims: The aims of the EDI CertTEFL qualification are to enable the learner to:

  • Evaluate the communicative needs of classes of speakers of other languages (both at higher &¬†lower levels)
  • Meet these needs through effective teaching
  • Evaluate how effectively they are meeting these needs

Accreditation: The EDI CertTEFL qualification is accredited by UK the regulatory authority.



The Level 5 Diploma in Education & Training is extremely current and progressive and is very relevant to the curriculum. It allows student teachers great opportunities to incorporate IT into the classroom, and integrate curricular areas with new media.

Arifa - UK August 30, 2014