Level 3 Award in Education and Training - The British College
page-template-default,page,page-id-16601,page-child,parent-pageid-15768,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Level 3 Award in Education and Training

The Level 3 Award in Education and Training (RQF) is an introductory teaching qualification, which prepares learners for teaching or training in a wide range of contexts. It does not develop competence, as learners are not required to be in a teaching position. The qualification is suitable for individuals who wish to teach in the Further Education and Skills Sector and forms a foundation for those with little or no previous experience of teaching or training.

£50.00 Add to cart

Course Description

The Level 3 Award in Education and Training (RQF) is an introductory, knowledge based teaching qualification which can be undertaken by individuals who are not yet in a teaching role (pre-service), or are currently teaching (in-service). However, there is a minimum requirement to take part in microteaching. Microteaching is an activity where trainee teachers prepare and deliver a short teaching and learning session to their peers and then evaluate their practice.
The qualification is suitable for individuals who:
• are not yet in a teaching role (pre-service)
• are in a teaching role, or who have just started a teaching role (in-service)
• want a short qualification
• have the potential to study at this level, which has the same level of demand as that of study for A-levels
• want a qualification without a minimum teaching practice requirement
The Level 3 Award in Education and Training (RQF) is regulated by Ofqual.

What are the entry requirements?

The qualification is suitable for learners of 19 years of age and above. There are no specific entry requirements and learners do not need to have teaching practice hours to achieve the qualification.
There may be a requirement, by a learner’s employer for them to hold a current DBS / CRB Certificate if they currently or intend to work with learners who are covered by the DBS / CRB regulations. It is the learner’s
responsibility to seek advice from their employer regarding this, along with attending any necessary Safeguarding information events.

Course Structure

Learners must achieve a minimum of 12 credits.

  1. Understanding roles, responsibilities and relationships in education and training
  2. Understanding and using inclusive learning and teaching approaches in education and training
  3. Understanding assessment in education and training

Total Qualification Time
This is an estimate of the total length of time it is expected that a learner will typically take to achieve and demonstrate the level of attainment necessary for the award of the qualification i.e. to achieve all learning outcomes.
Total Qualification Time is comprised of GLH and an estimate of the number of hours a learner is likely to spend in preparation, study or any other learning including assessment, which takes place as directed by, but not under the supervision of a lecturer, supervisor or tutor. The credit value, where given, for a qualification is determined by TQT, as one credit corresponds to 10 hours of learning.
Total Qualification Time for this qualification is 120 hours.

Guided Learning Hours
These hours are made up of all real time contact time, guidance or supervision of a learner by a lecturer, supervisor, tutor, trainer or other appropriate provider of education or training.

GLH for this qualification is 48.

Assessment & Progression

The qualification is assessed by internally set and marked assessments subject to external quality assurance


Successful learners can progress to other teaching, training, assessment and internal quality assurance qualifications such as:
• Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training
• Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training
• Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment
• Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment
• Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement
• Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement
• Level 4 Award in Understanding the Internal Quality Assurance Of Assessment Processes and Practice
• Level 4 Award in the Internal Quality Assurance of Assessment Processes and Practice